top of page
  • Writer's pictureMary Verberg

Biggest Takeaways of My Masters Program So Far

Updated: Jun 20, 2023

"We argue that TPCK is the basis of effective teaching with technology and requires an understanding of the representation of concepts using technologies"

- Matthew J Koehler and Punya Mishra


.

.

.


I took some time recently to reflect on my current courses through Michigan State University's Masters of Arts in Educational Technology program, and what concepts I planned to take with me to become a better teacher. One of the biggest areas of growth for myself is in TPACK, the integration and connections of technology (T), Pedagogical Knowledge (P) and Content Knowledge (CK). Although I consider myself a highly technological educator, I would like to move away from simply using technology as a tool in my classroom to true integration of technology. I would like to specifically zero in on the ways that technology interacts with pedagogical knowledge, or TPK. According to Mishra and Koehler, TPK is an "understanding of how teaching and learning changes when particular technologies are used" (Koehler & Mishra, 2008).

I use technology extremely often in the classroom, but sometimes it is in a superficial way, for example, a new way to deliver information or simply a tool to read an article on. Instead of this, or better yet, in addition to this, I want to move to using technology in a way that actually transforms my students' learning, like my Maker Lesson, in which students would make a stop motion animation of a system in science as a way to prepare for the science MSTEP. Mishra and Koehler state that integrating technology and pedagogical knowledge includes "knowing the pedagogical affordances and constraints of a range of technological tools as they relate to disciplinary and developmentally appropriate pedagogical designs and strategies" (Koehler & Mishra, 2008). I am going to begin to look at my technologies that I use from a pedagogical stance, in a way that I can look at the affordances and constraints of that technology, and how that technology can actually transform my pedagogy.

Another piece of class that I plan to take with me is the idea of a Maker Space. As of now, we do not have a Maker Space in our school, or really even in our district, that I know of. I would love to create a Maker Space that my students could use to simply just make - no rules, no constraints, just a place to make whatever they want to make. I think this could be a great place for brain breaks, for lessons that include making, or even just for times that we need to be creative. I am going to do some planning with my class this year, bring this idea to my principal, and see if there is space in our school for a Maker Space. I will try to get funding from multiple resources, including grants, the community, family members, etc., and see if I can get some things to put in our maker space. I will also ask for donations of materials, like shoe boxes, cardboard, water bottles, etc., to put in this space. I am hoping to create this space by the end of the school year for everyone in my school to be able to use. I think this will create a more equitable learning process, and with the socio-economic diversity in my school, I think this will lend itself well to bringing upon a more equitable learning environment for all students.


Check out an infographic I created below intended to introduce Maker Spaces to educators.






 

References


Koehler, M.J., & Mishra, P. (2008). Handbook of Technological Pedagogical Content Knowledge

(TPCK) for Educators. Routledge/Taylor & Francis Group for the American Association of

Colleges for Teacher Education.


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page