top of page
  • Writer's pictureMary Verberg

Education & Mindsets

Updated: Jun 20, 2023

"Everything is hard before it is easy."

- Goethe J.W

.

.

.


At the very beginning of my journey through Michigan State University's Master of Arts in Educational Technology (MSU MAET) program, I spent the summer studying abroad in Galway, Ireland. One of the first discussions we had in our course included what mindsets we embody as educators. As a group of 12 scholars participating in this overseas program, we compiled a list of those mindsets and created a visual to reflect back on throughout the course. After creating this visual, I snapped a quick photo of the poster so that I could document the mindsets that I want to ensure that I embody as I continue my educational journey at MSU. See the visual below.

As an educator, there are many mindsets that I already possess, including flexibility, willingness to learn, and open-mindedness. These mindsets have helped me to grow as a teacher, learn new things, and become the Instructional Technology Resource Teacher at my school. Aside from these mindsets, there are many more mindsets that I would like to at some point possess as an educator and technology integrator that will help me to continue to grow into the teacher I aim to be. One of these mindsets is risk-taking. In some ways, I am a risk-taker and I look for opportunities to try new things and change, but in other ways, I am constricted by risk-taking. For example, I am unsure of myself and unconfident in some ways, and this prohibits me from taking risks in the classroom or in other professional settings that I might want to take. Another mindset that I would like to encase is being experimental and explorative. Just like with risk-taking, I often like to play it safe. I like to use the resources that I know are available, find comfort in, and will ease any challenges that opportunities present.


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page